[spam-stopper] Continued failure of Zebrality.com spam to be caught

Michael Hampton error10 at gmail.com
Tue Oct 25 12:43:09 UTC 2005

Yeah, that's just it, it SEEMS legit. What they're doing is pulling feeds
for several hundred blogs, sending trackbacks to every new post on the
blogs, and posting a link to those blog entries for about an hour, just long
enough for a blogger (or Spam Karma 2) to find the link, then they drop the
link. Which is why I blocked them in the first place. It's pretty clear, and
slightly more sophisticated, trackback spam.

On 10/25/05, Matt Mullenweg <m at mullenweg.com> wrote:
> Michael Hampton wrote:
> > I keep marking these posts as spam, and they keep failing to be blocked.
> Any ideas what's going on? (The site isn't a blog; while it does contain a
> link to the post, they delete the links after about an hour.)
> There is only one of these in the submission queue, which came about the
> same time you sent this email.
> I'll look into the site, but it's not immediately apparent as spam, it
> seems legit (though ugly) and is not banned by any search engines.
> --
> Matt Mullenweg
> http://photomatt.net | http://wordpress.org
> http://pingomatic.com | ...
> _______________________________________________
> spam-stopper mailing list
> spam-stopper at lists.automattic.com
> http://lists.automattic.com/mailman/listinfo/spam-stopper
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.automattic.com/pipermail/spam-stopper/attachments/20051025/7cdc6fd7/attachment.htm>

More information about the spam-stopper mailing list