[wp-hackers] Will Activation Hook Be Executed During Plugin Upgradation?
elfin at elfden.co.uk
Mon Sep 20 19:30:47 UTC 2010
On 20/09/2010 19:35, Andrew Nacin wrote:
> On Mon, Sep 20, 2010 at 2:14 PM, Milan Dinić<liste at srpski.biz> wrote:
>> I belive that most people thought that it is used on every activation. Even
>> if plugin is updated, it is still activated.
> It should be noted that plugin deactivation hooks are *not* fired on
> updates. Those are explicitly suppressed. Only activation hooks are
> fired. Personally, I don't see why we're not silencing both.
Well correct me if I'm wrong, but when you update a plugin
automatically it deactivates, upgrades, then reactivates?
I make changes to the database tables created by the plugin on
occasion (plus occassional settings changes), and I have always used
the feature of the activation hook being run. I do my version check
I even coded something to highlight that the version number hadn't
been updated thus prodding them to deactivate/reactivate.
If this 'feature' was to be removed, then it would affect many many
plugin authors(IMO) and time would be needed for them to adjust to things.
More information about the wp-hackers